Day 5: Partial Hospitalization

Friday was day #5 of the program. I did not like them as much, especially on Friday. I felt worse at the end of the day on Friday then I did all week.

I think a big part of it was due to a different therapist leading the discussions. Her style did not work as well with me. Also, while the topics were useful, we did much more reading and white board work than discussion. I’m more of an active learning than when someone is talking to me. Friday felt so much longer than any other day and by the last hour I was checked out completely.

My brain had officially shut down and I was filled with much frustration and anger. It also did not help that the room was very stuffy and we kept getting new people all day. I like new people, but it was constant and we ended up with about 11 of us, which is a big group.

Day 7 from the day I started in on Monday. I though I would need to make up a day since I missed Christmas Eve. I apparently don’t. Friday morning I was not sure if I was ready to end the program. By the end of Friday I knew I was.

My insurance only covers 7 days out of a 10 day program which is stupid. While I am somewhat done with the program after how Friday went, I’m not ready to stop checking in with my psychiatrist who started me on new meds to monitor. I have to now find my own therapist and psychiatrist and it can be months until I get one. I’m glad I got started in this program as both the therapy, group aspect and immediate meeting with a psychiatrist for medication management has been really beneficial. It is just super frustrating how difficult insurance and coverage for mental health is. Why would an insurance cover only part of the days of a program and not the entire thing?

I was back at work this weekend, which was a nice break from 3 days in a row of group therapy. One thing I do really enjoy of this program is meeting new people and walking together with them through our struggles and uncertainties 🙂

Leave a comment