Bi-Polar Support Group

Last night I went to my first mental illness support group. It was for bi-polar and depression. It is always “scary” taking that first step towards getting help no matter how many time you take that first step. Thankfully it was only a small group this week with a total of 4 of us, three of which were new.

Since I cannot afford therapy due to not having insurance, going to this was a good supplement for the time being. The one thing I did not like is that they prefer you do not become friends/hang out with those you meet in group. To me I think that support should continue outside of group if you click with certain people. Either way I am going to be moving out of Pittsburgh at the end of March and I can live with that rule 😉

I also wasn’t a fan of the moderator. However, since she also has bi-polar, I could tolerate her over talking and ramblings last night because, after all, I’ve been there. Part of me decided I didn’t want to go again and that it was a one and done deal. I went. I experienced it. I can move forward. But deep down I think I should give it at least one more week if not more before giving up on something.

So here is to trying something new as a form of getting better and surviving through my time of depression.

Leave a comment