Song: I Won’t Let Go

I have a small extended family.On my mom’s side one aunt (lives in Ft. Lauderdale) and one uncle (who passed away last year and lived in Seattle). No cousins. My dad has two sisters, both married. Three cousins total between the two of them. They are all spread out as well between central and northern CA, the Philly area, and southern AZ.

I have been emailing my two aunts on my dad’s side about my process since the hospitalization. I know that they love me and care about me even from afar.

One of my aunts this morning asked me to listen to the song “I Won’t Let Go” sung by Rascal Flatts and picture her and my other Aunt singing it to me. πŸ™‚

Following that song Youtube played “Fight Song” then “Stand by You” both by Rachel Platten. Two of my favorite song and appropriate for this moment for me.

Sometimes it is too easy to have the feelings of depression and anxiety consume every part of me and forget that I am indeed loved and that people are here for me, even if they are not close by.

Something I have been doing each night for the past week is to find 10 things that I am thankful for that day. Sometimes it is easy. Other times it is challenging. On the challenging days I try to focus on the “little things” such has a bed to sleep on, hot water, heat, having a cell phone, etc. They may seem like nothing, but without any of those things my life would be a little more miserable. Maybe it is something you can try to πŸ™‚

Lyrics:

I Won’t Let Go – Rascal Flatts

It’s like a storm
That cuts a path
It’s breaks your will
It feels like that You think you’re lost
But your not lost on your own
You’re not alone I will stand by you
I will help you through
When you’ve done all you can do
If you can’t cope
I will dry your eyes
I will fight your fight

I will hold you tight
And I won’t let go It hurts my heart
To see you cry
I know it’s dark
Th
is part of life
Oh it finds us all (finds us all)
And we’re too small
To stop the rain
Oh but when it rains I will stand by you
I will help you through
When you’ve done all you can do
And you can’t cope
I will dry your eyes
I will fight your fight
I will hold you tight
And I won’t let you fall Don’t be afraid to fall
I’m right here to catch you
I won’t let you down
It won’t get you down
You’re gonna make it
Yeah I know you can make it’Cause I will stand by you
I will help you through
When you’ve done all you can do
And you can’t cope
And I will dry your eyes
I will fight your fight
I will hold you tight
And I won’t let go
Oh I’m gonna hold you
And I won’t let go
Won’t let you go
No I won’t


Songwriters: Jason Sellers / Stephen Robson

Leave a comment